WARWICKSHIRE SCHOOLS FORUM

Voting and Actions of the EGM meeting held on 11th November 2021

Microsoft Teams meeting 14:00 - 15:00

SCHOOL FORUM MEMBERS

Alison Davies The Avon Valley School (Maintained)

Angela Fox Welcombe Hills School (Special Schools representative)
Faye Padfield Abbots Farm Infant School (Maintained Governor)

Fergus Durrant Campion School (Academy Governor)

Joss Andrews Dunchurch Schools' Federation (Maintained)
Kevin Griffiths Coten End Primary School (Maintained Governor)

Larry Granelly Shottery St. Andrew's C.Of E. Primary School (Maintained Governor)

Martin Davies Telford Junior School (Maintained Governor)

Matthew Bown St. Paul's Church of England Primary School (Maintained)

Michael Morran Rugby High School (Academy Governor)

Nicci Burton (Vice Chair) Atherstone and Bedworth Heath Nursery Schools (Maintained)

Philip Johnson (Chair) Whitestone Infant School (Maintained Governor)

Rose Gunn Arden Forest Infant School (Maintained)

Jane Burrows Myton School (Academy)

Nick Evans Evergreen School (Special Schools Representative)
Sybil Hanson Coventry Church of England Diocese Representative

OFFICERS/OBSERVERS

Councillor Jeff Morgan Portfolio Holder – Education & Learning

Duane Chappell Strategy & Commissioning Manager (SEND and Inclusion)
Brian Smith Education, Children and Families Technical Specialist

1. Apologies (Started 0:00, Ended 1:12)

Apologies were received from the following members:

Rebecca Harrison Park Hill Thorns Federation (Maintained)
Clive Sentence Alcester Grammar School (Academy)
Paul Gillett Teacher Union Representative

Apologies were received from the following officers:

Andrew Felton Assistant Director - Finance

lan Budd/ Chris Baird Assistant Director - Education Services

(Interim)

Purnima Sherwood Service Manager for Finance

Neill Butler School Funding & Strategy Manager (Clerk to Forum)

The following members did not attend and did not give their apologies:

Craig Mckee Budbrooke Primary School (Academy)
Amy Woodward North Leamington School (Academy)

Antony Dix Paddox Primary School (Maintained Governor)

Sarah Bromley PVI Representative Mary Anne Burrows PVI Representative

Adam Hardy Catholic Church Archdiocese

2. Voting and Actions from last meeting (Started 1:13, Ended 1:29)

Agreed

3. Matters for Decision: (Started 1:30, Ended 55:51)

Single item agenda to discuss Schools Block Funding

Report Title: Schools Block Funding 2022-23.

Recommendations:

All Schools Forum members are asked to agree:

a) The transfer of 0.5% of schools block funding to the high needs block for 2022-23.

Academy, School and PVI representatives are asked to agree:

b) Allocating additional schools block DSG to Warwickshire schools and academies through the lump sum factor in 2022-23, and encourage schools to use this funding to support 'uptake of staff training for mainstream primary and secondary school staff to help them understand and meet the needs of children and young people with SEND'.

The transcript of the discussion starts at 3:55 and ends at 52:23.

Voting (Started 52:24, Ended 55:45)

Voting via Hands up function on teams

Recommendation (a): 2022-23 Transfer 0.5% of funding from Schools Block to High Needs Block

13 in favour; 2 against. *Recommendation carried*

<u>Recommendation (b):</u> Allocate any additional (surplus) 2022-23 Schools Block to Warwickshire schools and academies through lump sum factor and encourage schools to use this funding to support the uptake of SEND training for staff

10 in favour; 5 against. *Recommendation carried*

4. Meeting concludes (at 56:18)

Next Meeting on 13th January 2022